Crowley Car Accident Frequently Asked Questions 

If you were injured in a car accident in Crowley, Louisiana, you might have many questions about your legal rights and options. Since 2010, Kenny Habetz Injury Law has helped accident victims recover compensation after they were injured in accidents caused by other drivers. We frequently receive many questions about car accidents in Crowley, LA, and can answer them during a free case review with our Crowley car accident attorney.

To understand more about these frequently asked questions and learn about your legal options, contact our law office today at (337) 329-8883 to schedule a free consultation with a Crowley car accident lawyer

How Can Kenny Habetz Injury Law Help After a Car Accident in Crowley? 

Car accidents in Crowley, LA, can be frustrating and confusing situations. You may not understand your legal rights and options. The insurance company could be treating you unfairly or offering you a lowball settlement. An experienced Crowley car accident lawyer from Kenny Habetz Injury Law can help protect your rights while you focus on your recovery. 

Our Crowley personal injury lawyer has over a decade of experience championing the rights of accident victims. We have recovered millions of dollars on behalf of injury victims just like you. Our founding attorney, Kenny Habetz, has received national recognition by National Trial Lawyer Top 100 Trial Lawyer and Top 40 Under 40, as well as Expertise’s Best Car Accident Lawyer and Best Personal Injury Lawyer in Lafayette. He is also a member of the Million Dollar Advocates Forum and Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum. 

When you hire us to handle your claim, we:

  • Investigate the accident and identify all potential avenues for compensation
  • Review all applicable insurance policies 
  • Gather evidence to establish liability for the accident
  • Handle communication with the insurance company
  • Advise you of your legal rights and options
  • Negotiate aggressively for fair compensation

You can learn more about how a Crowley personal injury lawyer can help during a free case review.

Who Is Responsible for Paying For My Damages?

Louisiana is an at-fault state for car accidents, so the driver responsible for causing the crash is responsible for the damages resulting from the accident. If the other driver caused the accident, you can file a claim with their liability insurance provider or a personal injury lawsuit against them.

What Are Louisiana’s Minimum Liability Requirements?

All motorists must insure their vehicle with at least the following liability insurance:

  • $15,000 bodily injury to one person 
  • $30,000 bodily injury to more than one person in an accident
  • $25,000 for property damage

This insurance pays for the damage that someone causes through their own negligence

How Do I Prove Fault In a Car Accident?

To recover compensation for your accident, you will need to prove the other driver was at fault. 

You may be able to do this through evidence such as: 

  • Accident reports 
  • Witness statements
  • Photos of the accident scene
  • Property damage reports
  • Dashcam, traffic camera, or surveillance camera 
  • Event data recorders
  • Cell phone records

Your lawyer can help gather and preserve this evidence on your behalf. 

Do I Need a Copy of the Accident Report? 

The police report can contain valuable information about the accident, potentially pointing to who is at fault. Your insurance company will also likely request a copy of the accident report. It is important to report your collision and obtain a police report. 

What if I Was Partially at Fault for a Car Accident?

Louisiana is one of a few states that uses a pure comparative negligence system. Under this law, you can still seek compensation for an accident, even if you were mostly at fault for it. However, your damages are reduced by your degree of fault. For example, if you are found to be 60% at fault for the accident and suffered $100,000 in damages, your damages would be reduced by $60,000. 

What Is My Car Accident Case Worth?

The value of your case will depend on various factors that are specific to your case, such as:

  • The type and severity of injuries you suffer
  • Insurance coverage available
  • Whether you contributed to the accident
  • The extent of your economic damages
  • The extent of your pain and suffering 
  • The impact your injuries have on your life
  • Whether your injuries are permanent in nature

An experienced car accident lawyer can review your case in more detail to determine its potential value. 

What Damages Can I Recover In a Car Accident Claim?

Louisiana law requires that a tortfeasor compensate an accident victim for the damages they sustain, which may include:

  • Medical expenses
  • Long-term disability
  • Lost wages
  • Reduced earning capacity
  • Property damage
  • Pain and suffering
  • Pain and suffering
  • Mental anguish
  • Loss of enjoyment of life 

These damages include expenses you have already incurred, as well as future losses you anticipate. 

What Should I Do After a Car Accident?

If you are injured, seek immediate medical attention. Always report the accident to law enforcement so an officer can respond to the scene and complete a report. Ask the other driver for their name, address, driver’s license number, and insurance information. 

Ask any witnesses for their contact information. Use your phone to take pictures of the crash scene and the damage to all vehicles involved in the accident. 

How Much Does a Car Accident Lawyer Charge? 

Personal injury lawyers generally work on a contingency fee basis. This means that you don’t have to pay them upfront for their work. Instead, they receive a percentage of any settlement or verdict they recover on your behalf. This information is outlined in your retainer agreement, along with how various costs associated with your case are allocated. 

What Is the Deadline for Filing a Personal Injury Lawsuit In Louisiana?

Louisiana has a very short statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit after a car accident. You only have one year after the accident to file a lawsuit. If you don’t file your case within this timeframe, you can lose your chance to recover compensation for your accident-related injuries and losses.

Contact an Experienced Crowley Car Accident Lawyer for a Free Consultation

If you still have questions after reading answers to our Crowley, LA car accident frequently asked questions, reach out to Kenny Habetz Injury Law at (337) 329-8883. We offer a free case review with our Crowley car accident attorney to discuss your legal options.